Four parameter rows, and seven facts that never made it in

This listing publishes four rows: a name, a voltage, a wattage and a material. That is more than many listings on this site manage, but it is not the specification of a cutting machine. The specification is in the photographs, and it is more detailed than the block.

The machine is a vertical drum cutter. Produce drops through a clear hopper into a horizontally mounted drum, the blade inside the drum rotates, and the cut product leaves through the drum mouth. You swap the blade to change the cut.

The four rows as published

ParameterValue as publishedWhat it leaves open
Product NameMultifunctional Drum Vegetable CutterWhich drum, which diameter
Voltage220V/110VOne wide-range machine or two builds
Watts250WInput or output; continuous or intermittent duty
MaterialStainless steelWhich parts; the blades are the part that matters

Two of the four rows are effectively unresolved. 220V/110V could mean one machine with a wide-range motor or two machines built for two markets, and those are different purchases. 250W does not say whether it is input or shaft output, and for a small universal motor the difference between those is typically a quarter to a third of the figure.

Five blades, three names in the title

The title says thin wire, thick wire and sliced. The blade photograph shows five blades, and the cut-demonstration photograph shows the five results: carrot in fine shreds, cucumber in flat slices, potato in wavy slices, and cheese grated. Five cuts, three names.

Blade in the photographCut it makesNamed in the title
Slicing bladeFlat slicesYes, as sliced
Fine shred bladeThin matchsticksYes, as thin wire
Coarse shred bladeThick matchsticksYes, as thick wire
Grate / flat shred bladeGrated or flat-shreddedNo
Crinkle bladeWavy slicesNo

The title covers three of five, which is sixty percent of what the tooling does. Neither the crinkle blade nor the grate blade appears in the title, in the parameter block, or in the descriptive text. Both appear only as pictures.

For a buyer the crinkle blade is not a novelty. Wavy slices hold dressing and stay crisp in a salad bar in a way flat slices do not, which is the reason crinkle cutters exist as a category. The grate blade is what turns the machine into a cheese and nut grater. Two of the five functions are invisible unless you look at the pictures.

The question the listing never answers: how many blades in the box

Five blades exist. Nothing on the page says whether one machine ships with one blade, with three, or with all five.

This is the single most consequential gap on the page, because the price difference between one blade and five is large, and because a blade is a consumable. A buyer who assumes five and receives one has bought twenty percent of the tooling. A buyer who assumes one and receives five has underpaid.

The listing also does not say whether individual blades can be reordered. On a machine whose whole value is the blade set, that is the difference between a tool and a disposable appliance.

What each of the five blades does

The slicing blade is a single straight edge across the drum, and it produces flat discs. It is the blade in the hero photograph, cutting potato into rounds and then into wavy rounds with the other blade.

The two shred blades are perforated drums with square apertures, one dense and one open. The dense one makes the fine carrot matchsticks in the demonstration; the open one makes the thicker cut that the title calls thick wire.

The grate blade is a drum with round holes and raised rims. That is the blade behind the grated cheese, and it is the only blade on the page shown cutting something other than a vegetable.

The crinkle blade is a stack of alternating discs that produces the wave. Everything about it is mechanical: the wave pitch is fixed by the disc spacing and cannot be adjusted.

250 W is a household figure

Commercial vegetable cutters are published at 0.75 kW and upwards, with capacities in the range of three hundred to a thousand kilograms per hour. At 250 W this machine sits at a third of the smallest commercial class and under a ninth of the largest.

Machine classPowerMultiple of this machinePublished capacity
This listing0.25 kW1.0xnot stated
Light commercial cutter0.75 kW3.0x300-500 kg/h
Mid commercial cutter1.10 kW4.4x-
Heavy commercial cutter2.20 kW8.8xup to 1000 kg/h

Note what the table does not do: it does not divide one capacity by another to invent a throughput for this machine. Power does not scale linearly into capacity, because the limiting factor at small sizes is usually the feed opening and the operator's hand, not the motor. What the table establishes is only the class: this is a household or small-front-of-house machine, not a production cutter.

That is not a criticism. It is what the descriptive text says as well: Homemade Home Kitchen Appliances. The problem is that the same page also sells Salad Maker and shows restaurant-style output, so the class is stated in one place and contradicted by the styling in another.

Two voltages, twice the current

250 W is 250 W at either voltage, which means the current doubles when the voltage halves.

AssumptionAt 220 VAt 110 V
P = V x I, no correction1.14 A2.27 A
Power factor 0.90, efficiency 0.751.68 A3.37 A
Load on a 10 A circuit16.8%33.7%

At 220 V the machine loads a 10 A circuit by less than a fifth. At 110 V it loads the same circuit by a third, and it needs a cable sized for twice the current. In practice neither is a problem for a kitchen socket, but the 110 V build is the one with the tighter margins, and a long extension lead on a 110 V supply is where a marginal machine will show it.

There is a second issue the listing cannot answer. A universal motor of this size runs on either frequency, but its speed follows voltage rather than frequency, so a 220 V 50 Hz unit and a 110 V 60 Hz unit will not turn at the same speed. Since the cut quality of a drum cutter depends on how fast the blade passes the produce, the two builds are not interchangeable in use even though both are 250 W.

What the machine does with cheese

The grate blade is demonstrated on a block of hard cheese, and that is the most demanding job on the page. Cheese is soft, cohesive and sticky: it does not fracture like a carrot, it deforms and smears, and it loads the blade rather than cutting cleanly.

A 250 W motor will grate hard cheese. It will struggle with soft cheese, and it will struggle with warm cheese, because both smear rather than cut. Nothing on the page states a maximum hardness, a recommended temperature, or a throughput for cheese. If cheese is the reason you are buying, that is the first thing to test.

The same caution applies to the fibrous vegetables that a drum cutter handles worst: celery strings, leeks, and anything with a long grain. The page demonstrates carrot, cucumber, potato and cheese, all of which are the easy cases.

The safety catch and the pusher rod

Assembly step four shows two things worth more than any parameter row. First, a safety catch has to be fitted before the switch will operate, which is a mechanical interlock rather than a warning label. Second, the produce is pushed down with a rod, and the hand never enters the chute.

That is a real design decision and it belongs in the specification. On a machine with a rotating blade inside an open drum, an interlock is the difference between a kitchen appliance and a hazard. The listing does not mention it once.

The pusher also implies a constraint nobody states: the feed opening is small enough that produce must be pre-cut. A whole potato will not go in. How small it must be cut depends on the hopper dimensions, which are not published and cannot be measured from the photographs.

Thirty degrees and a bayonet catch

Step one shows the outlet drum fitted at an angle of thirty degrees to the body. Step two shows the blade seated on a bayonet catch at the base of the drum, pressed down until it clicks. Step three shows the drum dropped into the housing.

This is a tool-less design: no spanner, no screws, and the whole blade change is done by hand in the order the pictures show. For a kitchen that changes blades between jobs, that matters more than the wattage, because the labour cost of a blade change is paid every time.

It also means the drum seal is the wearing part. A bayonet catch that is removed and refitted several times a day will eventually leak, and there is no statement about whether the seal is replaceable.

Capacity, speed and the number nobody published

There is no capacity figure, no drum speed in rpm, no feed opening dimension, no weight, no footprint and no noise level. Those are the six numbers that decide whether a cutter fits a kitchen, and none of them is on the page.

Weight is worth singling out because the descriptive text calls the machine portable and easy to carry. Portability is a number. Here it is an adjective.

Energy per kilogram, once you know your throughput

The one calculation a buyer can complete without the seller is energy per kilogram, because the power is published and the throughput is something you know about your own kitchen.

Your throughputEnergy per kilogram at 250 W input
25 kg/h10.00 Wh/kg
50 kg/h5.00 Wh/kg
100 kg/h2.50 Wh/kg
150 kg/h1.67 Wh/kg
200 kg/h1.25 Wh/kg
300 kg/h0.83 Wh/kg

Read the table as a sensitivity rather than a prediction. At a hundred kilograms an hour the machine uses two and a half watt-hours per kilogram, which is trivial; at twenty-five it uses ten, which is still trivial against a refrigeration load. The point is that energy is not what limits this machine. Time is, because a 250 W drum fed through a small hopper is limited by how fast a person can push produce into it.

Four listings, one machine

Four listings in this catalogue carry the same machine: the same four parameter rows word for word, and the same eight images, pixel for pixel. They differ in title wording only.

That is four price points for one product and no additional information. It is worth comparing them for price, and it is worth knowing that comparing their specifications will tell you nothing new, because they are the same specification copied.

What the images state that the parameters do not

Seven facts appear in the photographs and in none of the four parameter rows.

FactWhere it appearsIn the parameter block
Five bladesBlade photographNo
Five cut typesBlade and cut-demonstration photographsNo
Safety catch must be fitted before the switch worksAssembly step 4No
A pusher rod is requiredAssembly step 4No
Outlet drum mounts at 30 degreesAssembly step 1No
Blades retained by a bayonet catchAssembly step 2No
Rotary knob marked ON and OFFMachine photographNo

Any one of these is more useful to a buyer than the material row. A listing that moved them into the parameter block would answer most of the questions this article has had to raise.

What to put in the request for quotation

Eleven questions. The first four exist because the page contradicts its own pictures, and the rest because the page is silent.

Item to confirm in writingWhy it decides the purchase
How many blades are in one set, and which fiveFive exist; the title names three; the block names none
Can blades be bought separately laterA blade is a consumable, not a lifetime part
Blade steel gradeStainless steel is stated for the machine, not for the cutting edges
Capacity in kg per hour, and for which vegetableNo capacity figure exists anywhere on the page
Drum speed in rpmSets both throughput and how the cut looks
Feed opening dimensionsDecides how small you must pre-cut before loading
Whether it is one 220-110 V machine or two buildsA wide-range motor and a tapped motor behave differently
Duty cycle: continuous or minutes on and minutes off250 W motors in this class are often intermittent rated
Ingress protection and what happens with wet produceNothing is stated; the drum is washed every day
Noise level in dBNot stated; matters for a front-of-house salad bar
Weight and footprintNot stated; the machine is sold as portable

Frequently asked questions

How many blades come with the machine?

The listing never says. Five blades are photographed, the title names three functions, and the parameter block names none. A set of five and a set of one are very different purchases, so this is the first thing to confirm in writing.

Is 250 W enough to cut carrots and potatoes?

Yes, for household and small front-of-house volumes. Commercial cutters start at 0.75 kW, three times this machine. The demonstration photographs show carrot, cucumber, potato and cheese, all handled; what is missing is any capacity figure in kilograms per hour, so the limit is how fast you can feed it, not the motor.

Can it grate cheese?

The grate blade is shown doing exactly that on a block of hard cheese. Soft or warm cheese will smear rather than cut, and no hardness or temperature limit is published. If cheese is the main job, test it before ordering a quantity.

What is the difference between 220V and 110V versions?

The page lists 220V/110V as one value and does not say whether that is one wide-range machine or two builds. The current doubles at 110 V for the same 250 W, and a universal motor turns at a speed that follows voltage, so the two builds will not cut at the same rate.

Does it have a safety interlock?

The assembly photographs show a safety catch that must be fitted before the switch operates, and a pusher rod so the hand never enters the chute. Neither is mentioned in the parameter block or the description, but both are visible in step four of the assembly sequence.

Can I change blades without tools?

Yes. The sequence shows the drum removed at thirty degrees, the blade released from a bayonet catch at the base, and the drum dropped back in. No screws or spanners appear anywhere in the process.

Why do four listings show the same machine?

They are one product listed four times: identical four parameter rows and identical eight images, differing only in title wording. Comparing them is useful for price and useless for specification.

Key specifications

Frequently asked questions

How many blades come with the machine?
The listing never says. Five blades are photographed, the title names three functions, and the parameter block names none. A set of five and a set of one are very different purchases, so this is the first thing to confirm in writing.
Is 250 W enough to cut carrots and potatoes?
Yes, for household and small front-of-house volumes. Commercial cutters start at 0.75 kW, three times this machine. The demonstration photographs show carrot, cucumber, potato and cheese, all handled; what is missing is any capacity figure in kilograms per hour, so the limit is how fast you can feed it, not the motor.
Can it grate cheese?
The grate blade is shown doing exactly that on a block of hard cheese. Soft or warm cheese will smear rather than cut, and no hardness or temperature limit is published. If cheese is the main job, test it before ordering a quantity.
What is the difference between 220V and 110V versions?
The page lists 220V/110V as one value and does not say whether that is one wide-range machine or two builds. The current doubles at 110 V for the same 250 W, and a universal motor turns at a speed that follows voltage, so the two builds will not cut at the same rate.
Does it have a safety interlock?
The assembly photographs show a safety catch that must be fitted before the switch operates, and a pusher rod so the hand never enters the chute. Neither is mentioned in the parameter block or the description, but both are visible in step four of the assembly sequence.
Can I change blades without tools?
Yes. The sequence shows the drum removed at thirty degrees, the blade released from a bayonet catch at the base, and the drum dropped back in. No screws or spanners appear anywhere in the process.
Why do four listings show the same machine?
They are one product listed four times: identical four parameter rows and identical eight images, differing only in title wording. Comparing them is useful for price and useless for specification.